Need help? Chat now!
Search results for:
Table of Contents
There are many ways you can manage and configure the server with McMyAdmin 2 panel. You can create certain rules, environments, and worlds that wildly differ from the standard Minecraft gameplay found in a single player.
McMyAdmin comes with several features to help make your server be unique and stand out. All of these options can be found in the Features option of the Configuration page. If you need an overview of all the configuration options available, we do have a guide on configuring your Minecraft Server for review.
The Server Name lets you set up a name for your server, which can be displayed in a welcome message to all players joining your server. This name is also used in Server List if you choose to have your server publicly listed. Both the welcome message and server listing will be discussed below.
The Welcome Message is what will be greeting all of your users when they join the server. This message will appear in your server's chat console and has two variables you can use to help personalize the message:
The Whitelist Mode will determine which sort of Whitelisting your server will use for allowing players to join the server if any. There are four options:
The Whitelist Group option allows you to set which group will be Whitelisted and join the server when Whitelist Mode is set to Single Group. Every group that is available in the Users and Groups section will be listed here.
Enable Server Sleeping is an option that helps your server to restart and conserve resources and energy. While Hostwinds Minecraft VPSes can be run constantly, some administrators may opt to use this feature to have their servers shut down during long periods of inactivity. While the server sleeps, it will still respond to query requests, and as such, will restart if a player attempts to connect to the server.
The Server Sleep Message is the message that will be broadcast to players who are attempting to connect to a sleeping server. The server will display this message so that the connecting player knows that the server is restarting and will be connected shortly.
The Enable Status Image and Widget is a feature that allows you to display the server status, including how many players are currently on. You can view the image that the widget will display by clicking on View Image, which will return something similar to this:
The Show as Public on Server List option will allow McMyAdmin to display your server on their public listing. As of this article, McMyAdmin no longer has its own web portal for displaying its public server list.
The Permissions Exporting mode allows you to export your permissions set for any of your installed plugins. There are several Permissions plugins that you can use to accomplish this. You would want to select the permissions plugin that supports your selected plugins, so for example, if you are using CraftBukkit plugins, you would want to use PermissionsBukkit.
The Backup Overflow Mode allows you to determine how to handle a situation where a backup cannot be taken of your server, normally due to disk space limits being reached. You can do any of the following:
The mChat Message Format option will let you specify how you want messages to be displayed using Bukkit's mChat mod. Mchat allows you to create custom messages for members who join, leave, or are kicked and allows private channels for users to create for their friends on the server. Mchat is not installed by default and requires installation if desired to be on your server.
The Whitelist Message will be displayed to players trying to connect to your server but are not on the managed Whitelist if you have the Whitelist option enabled. This setting requires CraftBukkit installed and activated.
If you enable the Show Standard Greetings Message, every time any players connect to your server, whether they are new players or returning players, they will be greeted by your server's welcome message. If disabled, they will not see any welcome message.
The Show Access Denied Errors settings will dictate whether the server will tell any player who attempts to run a McMyAdmin command if they have been denied access to that command. Many server administrators will leave this setting at No so that users cannot run many commands to determine which Minecraft server is running, helping to secure their server.
The Display Warning During World Save setting will determine whether or not a warning message will be sent whenever the world is saved and a backup made. On some servers, the world will cause a large lag spike, and as such, some administrators will leave this setting to Yes so that their players know the lag is due to a backup being saved.
The Announce Group Changes setting will determine whether or not the server will announce publicly whenever players are added to or removed from any groups in Users and Groups. If this setting is set to Yes, all players on the server will know when another player has been added or removed to a group.
Written by Hostwinds Team / April 26, 2018